Oaty Apple Accidents

So hey, remember that time when I said was finally ready to commit to my blog, and would be posting loads and getting really involved? Yeah, I lied. Surprise. But here I am, back again, and with a foodie post, no less.

It had to be Tubs who got the first word, as she’s basically taken over my body recently. I’ve gained a good half stone in the last couple of months (that’s seven pounds to my stateside readers), which I’m blaming on a few factors: I’ve given up smoking during the day, I’m averaging five hours sleep a night, and I get free school dinners in the college where I’m teaching. Or maybe it’s the splitting up with the boyfriend and having to still share a flat, which means that I spend all my free time hiding in my bedroom eating junk. Hard to say, really.

Anyway, I’m moving house in a couple of weeks. Don’t know where to, but that’s beside the point. The point is, I’m in the process of trying to empty cupboards rather than fill them. Today I had the rare pleasure of a day off and an empty flat, which to me, meant only one thing. Baking. I’ve been having severe flapjack cravings lately, and I was all set to make some sort of white chocolate, raspberry oat extravaganza. Turns out I only had about half of the ingredients, and couldn’t really face buying new stuff which would then inevitably languish in the cupboard until I had to deal with packing it all up and shipping it off to my cardboard box under the bridge new luxury apartment. So instead I did that thing where you throw everything you have into a bowl, bake it and hope for the best. And actually, these are pretty good. Plus now I can say I’ve my own recipe. Or something. Have a go, anyway. Let me know if you think they’re horrible.

So:
50g flour (it was half plain, half self-raising, in the spirit of finishing packets off)
60g brown sugar
100g oats
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 apples, peeled, cored, thinly sliced
70ml coconut oil
2 tablespoons honey
100ml milk
1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix the flour, sugar, oats and cinnamon in in a bowl
Heat the coconut oil, honey and milk in a saucepan, low heat (it curdles and looks gross, don’t worry)
Add the vanilla, stir it in.
Pour the wet over the dry and mix it all thoroughly
Add the apples and mix them in as best you can (or you can put half the mixture in the pan, lay the apples on top and then add the rest of the mix)
Line a pan with baking paper and pour the mix in, spread it out evenly
Bake for around 40 minutes at 170C
Cool on a wire rack and cut into squares.

And Bob’s your uncle. Well, he must be yours, he’s not mine.photo 1-1 photo 2-1

This entry was posted in Tubs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

