Pastures New

Hi all you patient followers of my long silent blog!

It’s been 2 years of turmoil since I last posted. I’ve moved house three times, believed I’d found love twice, landed my dream job and turned it down (I’m still wondering why) and basically bounced from pillar to post with absolutely no idea of what I’m doing.

I still don’t really know, but I am beginning to calm down, to make little changes to my daily life instead of sweeping everything off the table and starting again every time it doesn’t look quite right.

I’m renting a little flat to myself, and I have a garden. I’m learning the piano. I’m very bad at it. Rather than lamenting the fact that as a millennial I’ll probably never be able to buy a house, I’m starting to enjoy the home I have right now.

I’m not letting my fear of dying alone dictate how long I stay in a bad relationship. Living alone is not so bad. Dying alone is something that everybody does really.

Instead of feeling like a failure because I’m not the world renowned author my childhood self believed I’d be, I’m concentrating on just writing because I love writing. To that end, I have a new blog just for creative writing.

The hardest thing about blogging is starting out. It’s like going to a party at a friend of a friend’s house, only your friend bails right before you get there and you’re just stood on the edge of the crowd shuffling your feet and wondering how to get anybody to talk to you. I was lucky with this blog to have an early article Freshly Pressed, which was like the party host noticing me and taking me on a tour of the room, introducing me. With my new blog, I probably won’t be so lucky again.

So hey party friends, could you introduce me to some people?

First off, I’d love it if you came on over to my new blog, scribblesandscreams.com. There’s not much up as I’ve only just started, but I’d love to see some familiar faces over there.

Second, if you know of any other creative writing blogs, I’d love to read them. I’m having a tough time finding other blogs like mine, and blogging is essentially a community activity. I’m lonely!

I’m not closing this blog, and if I have something to say that’s not creative writing, I’ll post it here, but I’m not planning on doing much work on this one. So please, come see my new pad!

This entry was posted in Creative, Soapbox. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

